
 

 

 

 

 

Tire Customer Notice 

Revised 8/28/08 

 

In accordance with LAC 33:VII.10519.E, “Standard and Responsibilities of Generators of Waste Tire” tire dealers 
must provide notification to the public sector via signs, made available by the department, indicating that: 

1. “It is unlawful for any person to dispose, discard, burn, or otherwise release waste tires to the 
environment in a manner in contravention to the Louisiana Solid Waste Regulations. A fine of up to 
$32,500 per day, per violation may be imposed on any company or individual who violates these rules 
and regulations.” 
 

2. “All Louisiana tire dealers are required to collect a waste tire cleanup and recycling fee from the 
consumer of $2 for each passenger/light truck tire, $5 for each medium truck tire, and $10 for each off-
road tire, upon sale of each tire.  These fees shall be collected upon replacement of all recall and 
adjustment tires. For recapped or retreaded, a waste tire fee of $1.25 shall be collected upon the sale of 
each recapped or retreaded tire.  These fees must be collected whether or not the purchaser retains the 
waste tires.  No fee shall be collected on tires weighing more than 500 pounds or solid tires.  Tire dealers 
must accept from the purchaser, at the time of sale, one waste tire for every tire sold, unless the purchaser 
elects to retain the waste tire.” 
 

In accordance with LAC 33:VII.10521.D, “Standards and Responsibilities of Motor Vehicle Dealers” motor 
vehicle dealers must provide notification to the public via a sign, made available by the department, indicating 
that: 

“All Louisiana Motor Vehicle Dealers selling new vehicles are required to collect a waste tire cleanup 
and recycling fee from the consumer of $2 for passenger/light truck tire, $5 for each medium truck tire, 
and $10 for each off-road tire, upon sale of each new motor vehicle.  These fees shall also be collected 
upon replacement of all recall and adjustment tires.  This fee must be collected whether or not the 
purchasers retain the waste tires.  No fee shall be collected on tires weighing more than 500 pounds, solid 
tires, or on the designated spare tire.  Tire dealers must accept from the purchaser, at the time of sale, one 
waste tire for every tire sold, unless the purchaser elects to retain the waste tire.” 

Note:  “Tire Dealer” refers to those dealers who engage in the retail sale of new and used tires. 

Note:  “Motor Vehicle Dealer” refers to any person, business or firm registered with the state of  

Louisiana that engages in the commercial sale of new motor vehicles.  
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